Skip to main content

Overview of Discovery

Information about DelVal's Discovery tool.

What is Discovery? It's like Google!

Discovery searches many databases in one search!

Discovery is a "Google-like" tool that searches many DelVal databases (and the book catalog) simultaneously.  This single-search option is a nice time saver, and it often uncovers resources that you might otherwise have overlooked. You'll get lots of results, so take advantage of the limit options on the left side of the results screen.

Databases in Discovery

Discovery searches the library's book/DVD catalog as well as these databases:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Access Science
  • BioOne
  • Britannica Online
  • Business Source Complete
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete
  • CQ Researcher
  • CRCnetBase
  • eBook Collection (EBSCO)
  • eBook Education Collection
  • eBook Reference Collection (Gale)*
  • Educational Administration Abstracts
  • Education Source
  • ERIC
  • Food Science Source
  • Hoover's
  • Infobase Literature eBooks*
  • JStor Arts and Sciences I, II, IV, V, VII, Language & Literature
  • JStor Life Sciences
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic (law reviews)
  • Mergent
  • Opposing Viewpoints
  • Oxford Handbooks Online
  • Project MUSE
  • PsycARTICLES
  • PsycINFO
  • PsycTESTS
  • Reference USA
  • SAGE Journals
  • Salem Press*
  • Science Direct
  • Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide

*These e-books appear as "Krauskopf Library Catalog" items.  To access these e-books from the results screen, click on a title and then click on the on- or off-campus link in the "URL" section.

 

NOT in Discovery

Discovery is a great research option, but it doesn't have everything.  Be sure to explore other databases, too!  All DelVal databases have advanced-search options and LOTS of subject-specific resources.

These databases are NOT included in Discovery searches:

  • ABI/Inform
  • Agriculture Journals
  • Birds of North America
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals
  • Dissertations & Theses Global
  • Google Scholar
  • Plant Management Network
  • PsycTHERAPY
  • Turfgrass Information File